HE Fair at Sir George Monoux College

I used to dislike doing Open Days or manning a stand at a HE Fair because I had this idea that HE should be about informing, educating and inspiring rather than selling and marketing. However, given the change of climate in the sector and perhaps my accumulating experience, I have grown to enjoy talking to parents and prospective students. I now see this as an opportunity of sharing my pedagogical philosophy and creating a dialogue between me and the parents and students. I have learnt quite a bit from these visitors: about their existing knowledge, expectations, their aspirations.

Today I visited the Sir George Monoux College in London E17 for their HE and Careers Fair. I ran a couple of ‘Imaging the Future Media Landscsape’ workshops with 30 keen learners. At the workshops, these participants were asked to ponder in groups and in visual languages only how print, broadcast and entertainment media have changed over the past 20 years (before they were born), and what they will be like in the future in 20 years time.

My UCA colleague Tess helped me running the 'Imaging Future Media Landscape' workshop at the HE & Careers Fair at the Sir George Monoux College on 23 June 2015.
My UCA colleague Tess helped me running the ‘Imaging Future Media Landscape’ workshop at the HE & Careers Fair at the Sir George Monoux College on 23 June 2015.
Me running the 'Imaging Future Media Landscape' workshop at the HE & Careers Fair at the Sir George Monoux College on 23 June 2015.
Me running the ‘Imaging Future Media Landscape’ workshop at the HE & Careers Fair at the Sir George Monoux College on 23 June 2015.
Me running the 'Imaging Future Media Landscape' workshop at the HE & Careers Fair at the Sir George Monoux College on 23 June 2015.
Me running the ‘Imaging Future Media Landscape’ workshop at the HE & Careers Fair at the Sir George Monoux College on 23 June 2015.
Me running the 'Imaging Future Media Landscape' workshop at the HE & Careers Fair at the Sir George Monoux College on 23 June 2015.
Me running the ‘Imaging Future Media Landscape’ workshop at the HE & Careers Fair at the Sir George Monoux College on 23 June 2015.
Me running the 'Imaging Future Media Landscape' workshop at the HE & Careers Fair at the Sir George Monoux College on 23 June 2015.
Me running the ‘Imaging Future Media Landscape’ workshop at the HE & Careers Fair at the Sir George Monoux College on 23 June 2015.

I have run this workshop many times, and as usual there’s always something special. In addition to the usual answers such asl ‘Google Glasses’ and hologram, one student suggested a smart t-shirt that would allow viewers to experience what they are watching in the movie e.g., heat, touch.

This smart t-shirt idea reminded me of the design for wearable fashion workshop I participated at the TAMK iWEEK 2015 led by Daniel Gilgen and Michel Pistra. At the workshop, we attached some stickers with icons signifying functionalities to our clothing and shoes to design wearable technologies. In the end, collectively, we design a Makey-Makey powered suit for self defence. This suit would make noise whenever the wearer was touched. The noise was classified into three levels against the seriousness of the alert. It was fun.

I’ve also seen a couple drawings that contextualised an argument, rather than just drawing icons. That showed the student’s storyboarding skill.

Caption competition is on.
Caption competition is on.
I'm happy when I have wifi; I'm sad when I don't have wifi.
I’m happy when I have wifi; I’m sad when I don’t have wifi.

I really enjoyed the warm hospitality of the staff and students at Sir George Monoux College. They made my day.

Leave a Reply

